Easy Insight Logo
Easy Insight Logo
Call 1-(720)-316-8174

Guide to Collaboration in Easy Insight

How do I add users to my account?
You can add other users from the Users page under Account Settings.
What's the difference between Designers and Viewers
There are two main types of users.
  • Designer - designers are users who can create and modify reports and dashboards. Your account has a fixed number of designers. Additional designer licenses can be purchased from your Account - Upgrade Account Page.
  • Viewer - viewers are users who can view the reports and dashboards your designers have created. Your account has an unlimited number of viewers.
What does the Account Administrator flag enable?
When you create a Designer, you'll notice the Account Administrator flag. This flag enables users to access the Account section, which includes adding/removing other users and setting up billing information and account levels.
How do permissions work in Easy Insight?
There are two distinct levels of permissions within Easy Insight. First, you can set which reports and dashboards users can see and modify. Second, you can set which data within a data source users can see.
Controlling which reports and dashboards users can see

User Administration - User Properties (Click username.)

User can see all reports and dashboards When this box is checked, the user will have access to all reports and dashboards, except where reports and dashboards are not Account Visible.

When the box is unchecked the reports and dashboards accessible to the user will need to be defined using Groups.

Persona - Account - Persona

Personas are used to apply an explicit filter set to a user account. For Example, if you want a user to have access to only their data in Basecamp, you would add that datasource with a filter on "Todo Assignee" with a value of "John Doe." You can add multiple datasources with varying filter/sets to each Persona.

Only Show Top Reports and Dashboards

When this box is checked, user's home page is a simplified click to access primary reports and dashboards that are defined as Top Reports and Dashboards (Your primary dashboard is automatically set as a Top Report/Dashboard for most connections.)

Users will still have access to navigate to individual reports and drillthroughs from within the dashboard.

To use this feature, an access level must be defined, either by selecting "User can see all reports and Dashboards" or defining a "Group"

Dashboard Default View

This feature automatically loads a specific dashboard when a user logs in to Easy Insight.

To use this feature, an access level must be defined, either by selecting "User can see all reports and Dashboards" or defining a "Group"

What are Group Permissions?
Account - Group Administration Groups are used to allow data access to one or more users. You'll want to use Group access if you have multiple datasources and only want specific sources available to specific user types or if you only want specific reports or dashboards visible within a source. For example, you may use Basecamp and Highrise and you want your sales data visible for your sales team and your project data available for your project management team. For this example you could setup a Sales Group and a PM Group, and allow access to the respective sources and reports.
What does the Account Administrator flag enable?
When you create a Designer, you'll notice the Account Administrator flag. This flag enables users to access the Account section, which includes adding/removing other users and setting up billing information and account levels.
How do I add data sources, reports, and dashboards to groups?

Data Sources and Reports

Add Data Source Adds an entire datasource to a groups visibility. Defaults to "All reports and dashboards visible"

Add Dashboard Adds an entire Dashboard (collection of reports) to a group's visibility. Defaults to "All reports are visible"

Add Report Adds a single report to a group's visibility.

You can add users to a group by clicking in the group from the Group page, then clicking on Members and Add User.

If the user is a designer, you can choose from:

  • Create, Edit, Delete, View
  • Create, Edit, View
  • Create, View

If the user is a viewer, his or her role will be restricted to:

View

These permissions will be applied to whatever data sources, reports, and dashboards are included in the group.

Controlling which data users can see

The second level of security comes by controlling which actual data the users can see (Data Level Security). For example, you might want the graphic artists on your team to only see the work assigned to them in your project management tool, or you might want the sales reps on your team to only see the deals they're working on.

First, you'll need to create a Persona. Personas are templates defining which fields are used for permissions. Click to the Account tab in the full interface and click into the Personas section. Click on Add Persona. You'll need to name the Persona (for example, you might do Graphic Artist, Sales Rep, or Support Agent depending on your system) and you'll need to add one or more data sources to the persona. You should add whichever data source they'll be using reports on.

After you've added the data source, you need to create one or more filters. For our above examples, you would create a filter on Assignee, Sales Rep, or Assigned Agent. The field(s) you filter on are what you want to control access on. After you've created the filter, you don't need to set any values on it--just go ahead and save the persona.

With the persona saved, go to the Users section. When you add or edit a user, you'll see that the Persona dropdown lets you choose the newly created Persona. After choosing a Persona, you'll get a new Data Level Security tab on the user window. Within this window, you can now choose values for the filters you defined back in the Persona to choose what specific values the user can see. Once these values have been defined for a user, the filters will automatically be applied to everything the user sees in Easy Insight, whether it's reports, dashboards, or filters within those reports and dashboards. The same filters will also be applied to any scheduled emails received by the user.